Noah’s Pudding

noahs-pudding

This is my version of Noah’s Pudding, or ashure, a Turkish dessert (though I like it for breakfast). It’s hard to photograph mushy things, but it’s delicious. If you like Asian desserts incorporating mung beans or adzuki beans, you’ll enjoy this.

I’d ideally need a Turkish grandmother to show me how to make ashure. There are as many versions as there are recipes online. So I improvised with familiar techniques and ingredients I know I like. You can play with different combinations of dried fruit and nuts, though I think you should definitely still include dried cherries and pistachios. And don’t skip the rose water!

  • 1 cup barley
  • 2 tbsp. long-grain brown rice
  • 1/2 cup uncooked chickpeas
  • 1/2 cup uncooked adzuki beans
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp. rose water
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup dried cherries
  • 1/2 cup dried figs, chopped
  • 1/2 cup dried apricots, chopped
  • 1/4 cup almonds, chopped
  • 1/4 cup pistachios, chopped
  1. In a 4-qt. pot, combine barley, rice, chickpeas, and adzuki beans. Cover with 2 inches of water and let sit overnight.
  2. Drain the barley mixture and cover with 2 inches fresh water. Cook until water is mostly absorbed, 45-60 minutes.
  3. In a separate bowl and using an immersion blender, blend 3 cups cooked barley mixture with 1/2 cup water. Return blended mixture to pot.
  4. Add 2 cups water and remaining ingredients to pot. Stir everything together and simmer until water is absorbed, about 30 minutes. Cover for a few minutes and serve warm.
